The Chandos Cinema was built in 1933 and opened in 1934 as a private venture to replace the Electric Cinema which showed films in the Old Town Hall. The Chandos Cinema sported a balcony and a small stage and doubled as a venue for concerts and meetings. The Chandos was built on a triangle of land between London and Chandos Roads. It has once been a sandpit and in the 18th century a stone barn was erected on the site which was used as a town theater. The Charter Fair brought Cinema to Buckingham for the first time. It was in the Edwardian era that a “bio scope” was first installed outside the Town Hall to project silent “living” images across autumnal Buckingham skies. Word about the “flicks” spread seemingly at the speed of light across town and crowds packed the bio scope shows to experience the new sensation.